Hip, hip hooray…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWell I did it, I have almost finished writing  a 1,500 word short story, there are a few amendments and additions to make and then I will lock it away until the new year.

I’ve written the story to enter in a competition and I’m not embarrassed to say that I’m really proud of it.  It’s not a normal short story in as much as it had to be told entirely through dialogue, no mean feat I can tell you.

I saw the competition in Writing Magazine a month ago and thought I’d give it a go, gotta start somewhere.

I can’t tell you too much about the story afraid but I can tell you about the writing process.

I started off thinking about who should be speaking and why. I listed different variations and initially was very keen to write the dialogue based on a 999 call, I even read some actual transcripts so that I would get the terminology correct, but then Iris introduced herself to me and that was that. She took over and showed me the direction that the story needed to move in.

I love Iris and her story, I’m not expecting anything to come of the story but I’m chuffed to bits that I finished it and that I think it’s good enough to submit.

I have renewed vigour and can’t wait to write more…

One thought on “Hip, hip hooray…

Leave a Reply

