And now for something completely different…

img_1769In exactly 13 days time I’ll be able to shout from the rooftops, ‘I’m getting married next year,’ and I can’t wait, it’ll be the first thing I say when Big Ben strikes midnight on New Year’s Eve followed by telling my fiancé just how much I love him.

But there is a story that will have led me to this moment.

My birthday is at the end of December and last year my fiancé wanted to do something special so he arranged for us to spend a few days in the Highlands of Scotland, a place we both love but had never visited together.

I saw it as a chance for us to spend some well deserved quality time together, for my fiancé it was the trip that was to be the beginning of the next chapter of our life together.

Unbeknown to me hidden in his coat pocket was the most beautiful emerald engagement ring. img_1768

On the Sunday he took me to Conic Hill and overlooking Loch Lomond he got down on one knee and proposed.  It was the most magical moment in my life, the beginning of everything.

Now as we near the end of the year that day seems like a lifetime ago, but as I sit here writing, swiveling my ring around my finger I look across at my husband to be and I think about how lucky I am to have him in my life and how wonderful a life we will have together.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not some love struck teenager and I’m not wearing rose-tinted glasses, if anything this year has also shown us its tough side, but through it all Wayne has supported me, made me countless cups of tea and held me when it mattered the most. He is the other half of me, my soulmate and my life.

So as the year draws to a close it is time for me to reflect on my perfect marriage proposal, brush aside all of the tough times and look forward to making lots of wedding plans and memories in 2017.

 

One thought on “And now for something completely different…

Leave a Reply

