And now for an update…

26 days ago I started this blog about my writing journey, so I thought I’d update you and let you know how things are going…

When I started this blog I wanted to write on it everyday and apart from Boxing Day, I have. I have already received some lovely messages of encouragement from the community and today I reached 50 followers. Now for some of you veterans 50 is a drop in the ocean but when I started this blog, I didn’t think anyone would read it, I wrote it (and in part still do) for myself to prove that I could write creatively everyday.

I wanted to enter my (yet to be written) work into short story competitions. This was to stop me being a closet writer (see my previous blog posts) and to get my work ‘out there’. To date I have submitted one piece of flash fiction, I have another short story ready to submit tomorrow and a 3rd one in the developmental stages.

My ‘Little Book of Big Ideas’ never leaves my side and I now openly sit and jot down ideas rather than trying to remember them to add in private later.

I find myself frustrated when I can’t write because of other commitments, work being the biggest one…

And I find myself actively looking through my writing magazines for competitions to enter.

I didn’t want this writing journey to be a New Year’s resolution, which is why I took the plunge in early December, I wanted it to be a lifestyle change, something for me to enjoy. An achievement.

I know that I’ve come a long way in 26 days and I’m proud of myself, every step, no matter how small, has been a step in the right direction. My competition entries may not win, but 27 days ago I would never have had the courage to complete a story, let alone submit it.

Now all I need is the courage to join my local writing group, but I’m not ready quite yet…

So thank you for the continued support, it’s nice to know that you are there.

 

4 thoughts on “And now for an update…

  1. smudge

    Every step is progress, regardless the direction! As long as you learn from the journey!
    I totally understand other time commitments stealing one’s opportunity to write – that’s my current plague – but you seem to be making a beautiful go at it! Awesome!
    Wishing you much success, daily!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

