Date Night…

It’s Tuesday, is it too early to wish it was the weekend?

This evening I didn’t get any writing done because my fiancé and I went in a date. We never had a courtship in the traditional sense. In the first few months of our relationship we probably went on about 6 dates! The reason for this was that we lived 100 miles apart and that my fiancé had children, so  after the first two weekends I travelled to his house and spent time getting to know the children.

We moved in together 6 months after we became a couple and since then we’ve tried to have an evening to ourselves once a month, sometimes ( if we’re lucky) we’ve managed it once a week.

This evening we went to see ‘A Monster Calls’ I’d read the book when it was first published and was really looking forward to the film.

So what did I think of it?

I loved it, it payed homage to the book, and the special effects were amazing. It’s a sad film and I did shed a few tears, but then I cried when I read the book so I wouldn’t have expected anything less. If you get an opportunity to see it, go, you won’t be disappointed.

So this evening I took a night off from my own writing and emersed myself in someone else’s and it was well worth it.

Did it inspire my own writing in anyway? No it didn’t, I don’t aspire to be Patrick Ness, but then why should I, for a start I’m a woman and not called Patrick!,

I write what I want to read and create the characters I want to write about and I hope that one day other people will want to enter my worlds too.

 

Leave a Reply

