It’s a Blue, Blue Monday…

Today was supposed to be Blue Monday, the most depressing day of the year.  For most payday is still 2 weeks away and for us in the U.K. the weather is dismal and a little depressing.

So what did I do today? Did I let the day get me down?

Hell No, I grabbed it by its proverbial balls and gave it a run for its money.

Work went well – I’m a teacher – my marking is up to date (always a bonus), and I’m not teaching in the morning because I have ‘leadership’ time so I won’t have any marking tomorrow either.  Result…

From then on the day just got better and better.

I wrote a list, I love lists, but haven’t written one in ages and I was starting to feel a bit disorganised.  At school I’m in charge of organising literary events and I’ve got a host of events to organise. My piece of key advice to anyone writing a list – always start by including a couple of jobs you’ve already done, it will make you feel better if you do it that way, trust me.

By the time I got home I was in a very good mood and even when I realised that my flash fiction entry hadn’t won the competition I entered, I wasn’t going to let it dampen my day.

So for some today may have been Blue Monday but for me…

img_1822

 

Leave a Reply

